Don’t Just Pass on the Sodas …

… pass on the sports and energy drinks, too. Not only do most sports and energy drinks contain a high number of calories – primarily from sugar – a recent study  found that sports and energy drinks cause “irreversible damage” to teeth.

Over the course of five days, researchers submerged teeth in one of 13 different sports or energy drinks. When exposed to the liquids four times a day, for 15 minutes each time – just one hour a day – reseachers discovered noticable damage to tooth enamel. Why? The drinks are acidic – meaning your Gatorade is essentially eating its way through your teeth. Scarier still? Energy drinks such as Red Bull or Monster – which have grown significantly in popularity over the last few years – were found to be twice as corrosive as sports drinks.

Just goes to further show that the best way to rehydrate is also the least expensive – good old H2O. Though everyone is different, the general rule is at least eight glasses (64 oz.) of water a day should do it – more if you are engaged in strenuous exercise. I take a 32 oz. bottle everywhere with me, and I usually fill it up and drink it down a good 4-5 times a day. (Remember, when you’re thirsty, you are already dehydrated!) And not only will water not negatively impact your tooth enamal – it’s calorie-free, too. So pass on the sports and energy drinks, find some water, and drink up!

4 thoughts on “Don’t Just Pass on the Sodas …

  1. I am a Diet Coke aholic… I am trying to build the case for giving up “my last bad habit”. I love DC and have 3-4 a day.
    What is your recommendation for quitting?
    I wish I liked water more…is it a discipline…just “fake it till I make it” ?

    • It was actually easy for me to give up-I went to a two week theater workshop in high school and the director was really strict about nutrition. I found I didn’t miss it…and 15 years later, I still don’t 🙂
      But I’ve always been a water guzzler, so water is my drink of choice anyway.

      • I would also save a ton of $$ my giving it up. I have a push motivation (better health) and a pull motivation (more money in my pocket) but still I drink it. It is the FIRST thing I think about in the AM. This love afffair is over 10 years old. It is going to be hard for me…but I quit smoking in 2005 cold turkey so I can do it. Just gotta make a plan.

Leave a Reply

