Surprise Yoga Class … I Have to Do This More Often.

I went through a yoga phase maybe four or five years ago. I was pretty consistent – at least twice a week. But then it seemed one thing or another always managed to stand in the way of it: I started teaching multiple classes a week. I started working with a trainer and became more focused on the strength training aspects. I just couldn’t find a good time to take a class, with an instructor that I actually liked.

So, this morning, I was wide awake at 6:30 (yup, let myself sleep in a whole 10 minutes past my weekday wake up time … wahoo). As I always start my Saturdays, I got out of bed, made a little breakfast, checked my email, and headed over to the gym. I had it in my head that today would be a running day, and I’d fit in some quick leg work while I was at it.

Now, having rolled out of bed an hour earlier than I typically do on Saturday mornings, I made it to the gym earlier than usual, too … by 9:30, I was hopping off of the treadmill, seven miles under my belt, and it hit me … I’ve been talking about getting back into yoga for what seems like forever (the last class I went to was January 22, the day after my 31st birthday, when I decided to stick around for the class scheduled after my Sunday morning cycling and Pilates classes … apparently I felt I had something to prove. Perhaps that I was still young?) And it just so happened that there was a class starting at 9:45. I decided to forgo the leg work that I really wasn’t in the mood for anyway, head down to the studio I myself teach in twice a week, and be a student for a change.

I have to admit, it was a little strange taking a class with some of my regular students – I almost felt like I HAD to perform, or that I had to live up to their expectations (what those expectations may have been, I have no idea. But it’s a mental thing). But there was something I’d forgotten, having not taken a yoga class in what feels like forever – just how great I feel by the end. I’m such a go-go-go type, that to take that one hour, to focus on myself, and to let out the tension that I build up each week – between my psychotic workouts, my full-time job, and the stress of being a 30-something who wants to have it all – it’s pretty awesome.

Now, all I need to do is see about making it a little more consistent again – because I definitely remembered this morning exactly what I love about yoga. And I’m sure I’ll be reminded again when I wake up tomorrow with the great shoulder soreness I know comes from all those vinyasas!

2 thoughts on “Surprise Yoga Class … I Have to Do This More Often.

  1. I have always found yoga to be a great complement to a busy regimen, and for some it becomes a singleminded pursuit, but to each their own. I feel it has something for everyone 🙂

  2. Haha, I love this, because Z and I have been doing a 90-minute yoga session every week for the last few months…at first, it was complete dread, followed by “wow I feel amazing”…now it is, “This kinda sucks but remember how awesome we feel afterward?!”. Glad you found yoga again 🙂

Leave a Reply

