Don’t Go to the Gym to Look Good … Do It For the Way It Makes You Feel!

I came across this last night, and I instantly fell in love with it. I’ll be the first to admit to probably spending too much time thinking about what I’ll wear to the gym each day – and  that I probably take better care of my gym clothes than I do my actual work clothes – but that by the end of a workout, what I decide to wear on any given day never really matters.

Truth is, I only know how to go one way when it comes to working out: hard. I can’t remember the last time that I left the gym looking even slightly good. Most days, I walk out of the gym covered in sweat. And yes, by covered, I do mean COVERED – like, to the point where I literally have to peel my soaked gym clothes off of my body when I get home (great visual, right? You’re welcome). Most of my makeup has melted off of my face, and perhaps ended up on my towel (just a note – if you have never belonged to a gym with towel service, you are missing out). Speaking of make-up … if you want to see me completely bare faced, all you have to do is see me work out on the weekends. More often than not, by the time I finally make it out the door, I’m exhausted. I’m starving. And I’m feeling the best I have all day.

Why? Because when I’m working out, it is the one time that I’m not so self-conscious. I’m more focused on my strength, my accomplishments, my goals, the way my muscles look in the mirrors … not so much the tiny spot on my hip that, God help me, I have no idea how to get rid of. Though I definitely didn’t always feel this way, I definitely don’t go to the gym to look cute – I go to feel good. And if those great feelings translate to looking good (once I’ve had a chance to shower, naturally), I’m definitely not going to fight it.

28 thoughts on “Don’t Go to the Gym to Look Good … Do It For the Way It Makes You Feel!

  1. I walk out of hot yoga, and I can literally wring my clothes out in the shower stall. And I look like a drowned cat, eyes bloodshot, sometimes a little shaky, often really frustrated and eager to escape. And I miss it like hell when I haven’t done it in a while 🙂

  2. I totally agree. But I always feel way better about my workouts when I look good in the mirror- I find that in baggy old clothes I feel frumpy and unattractive- but with stylish form fitting clothes I’m ready to sweat it all out!

    • Absolutely! It’s funny, I almost feel like it’s a little added motivation – like I may be sweaty and gross, but at least I’m trying to look decent. Sadly, I have an entire dresser of workout clothes – but I justify it in knowing that it all goes back to look good, feel good! And I don’t think my group fitness manager would be too pleased if I showed up in a grungy t-shirt to teach a class…

    • Absolutely – there are days when I change my outfit 4 times because I don’t like the way something looks … knowing full well that I’m going to be covered in sweat within an hour anyway. I may look like a mess, but I feel fantastic!

  3. I love it! I’m the same way. The harder I work out, the more I sweat, the more accomplished I feel. How did I ever live my life without a good workout (nearly) every day!? Life is good. DK

    • Absolutely agree – I’m not sure how I lived without a good workout, either! I’m the type who has to force myself to take a day off, because I have to … not because I want to 🙂

  4. Pingback: Don’t Go to the Gym to Look Good … Do It For the Way It Makes You Feel! « Personal Training in Miami

  5. I completely agree! I am a sweaty girl, so I begin sweating within the first two warm up songs during dance-fitness classes. I never go work out dressed up, because I’m there to work — not look cute. The looking cute comes after!

  6. Amen to that. If you can fill a bucket after your done, your workout was a success? What are your thoughts on banning the gym? I find that I get the best workouts when I can apply it anywhere. Push up routine in the park, or a stair sprint routine at the local track.

    I just wrote on this topic.

    Avoid The Gym

    • So true! As for banning the gym, I think it depends on what you are trying to accomplish, and the best type of exercise for you. I know for me personally, I’m much more likely to work out hard at the gym than I am anywhere else – but I know others who have great success with at-home or outside workouts. As long as you know what works for you and you enjoy doing it, I think it’s a matter of getting your exercise at all, not where you do it.

Leave a Reply

