Back to Reality …

I made it back from a FANTASTIC (and beyond much needed) vacation last night. I think it’s safe to say that my body was overdue for the extended rest – and I’m definitely looking forward to getting back into the gym this week to see exactly how beneficial the time off was to it!

My first fear this morning, now that I’m back to reality? Getting onto the scale. I’ve spent the last nine days watching what I eat, but not as closely as I usually do (as even being pretty careful only goes so far when every dinner is at a restaurant). And my workouts? I’d call those daily walks down the beach with my mom significantly less challenging than my typical workout, even if we did spend about an hour or so walking each day. Luckily, I was only up three pounds from the day I left. Hopefully they’ll be gone by the end of this week.

As I have the last several years, I was scheduled to teach two classes about 14 hours after getting back into town. Let’s just say things were a little rough this morning. I knew it was going to be an interesting one after I spent 10 minutes warming up on the elliptical and my heart rate was higher than typical. On tap this morning: a Piloxing/Pilates double. Between the two, I usually burn somewhere around 900 calories – and this morning I walked out of the gym with just over 1,230 on my heart rate monitor (Whew! Hopefully that will make a dent in those three lbs!)

The funny thing is, as sad as I was to have to leave the beach (and the permanent dent my body probably left in the sand after seven days of eight hours a day – yeah, I’m pretty tan), I was excited to get back to the gym. I think it says a little bit about my priorities – and the fact that the two are my strongest passions (working out and sitting on the beach with the family). As hard as it is for me to commit to a recovery day each week, there is something about a week of sitting on the beach that makes taking the time off easy.

Now, if only I felt the same about going back to work tomorrow as I did about going back to class this morning …

Leave a Reply

