What Not to Wear: Gym Edition

As you may know, I spend a lot of time in the gym. Which means I’ve had my share of opportunities to see … let’s call them … questionable attire. Now, I understand that good gym clothes can be expensive (why do you think I only shop the clearance rack at Lucy?), but seriously – a pair of shorts and a t-shirt suffice. And you can find those just about anywhere, and at a relatively low cost.

My point is, your gym attire options are pretty broad. T-shirts, tank tops, sweatshirts, shorts, yoga pants, running tights … all great options. What is on my “what not to wear” list?

  • Jeans. Yes, I saw a guy lifting in jeans this evening. Seriously, they only stretch so much. That cannot be comfortable. And you look ridiculous.
  • Work boots. Same argument I’d make for why not to wear jeans. Especially the “you look ridiculous” part … and especially when you’re also wearing shorts. (On the flipside, probably a year ago, I was on the treadmill next to a man who was running  barefoot. Now, I get that barefoot training is all the rage. Piloxing is barefoot, so technically I train barefoot twice a week. But on a TREADMILL? Are you planning on sanitizing the entire machine, because that is repulsive. Run barefoot outside, run barefoot on your own treadmill, do NOT run barefoot in a gym. Get some of those five fingers things if you must).
  • 80s gym clothes. These tend to be bright colors, occasionally involving sweatbands and leotards. Luckily, they usually only surface two times a year: shortly after New Year’s (when the women who haven’t worked out since the 80s surface) and in the event that a gym holds an 80s event. Only one of these is appropriate. It is NOT the former. Unless your name is Richard Simmons.
  • Clothes that don’t fit. There is one woman at my gym who I’d love to buy new pants for, because they aren’t doing her any favors – they make her look significantly bigger than I think she actually is. If your pants make it up to your collarbone, they don’t fit. Tucking in your shirt only makes it worse. Same goes for the women wearing shorts that are smaller than some of my underwear.

Like I said, there are so many appropriate options out there for comfortable workout wear (In fact, I wrote this post about what to look for several months ago). You don’t have to spend a ton of money on clothes that are just going to get sweaty anyway, but have a little pride in how you look! The saying goes “look good, feel good” – and it’s absolutely true. If you like the way your body looks in your gym clothes, you’ll be even more motivated to do what it takes to make them look even better!

7 thoughts on “What Not to Wear: Gym Edition

    • I have no clue how anyone with hair long enough to be pulled back can leave their hair down. My ponytail gets sweaty and tangled enough, I couldn’t imagine what it would look like if I kept it down!

  1. Buying gym clothes doesn’t have to be expensive. I mean, look at H&M:s latest collection for exercising; they look really good. Sure, they’re about one or two “gym fashion colors” behind. But if you’re a casual exerciser you probably don’t care about that anyways.

    Imo Nike has really price-worthy clothes, that are comfortable as well. My two “wish items” atm is a top from Better Bodies and a pair of compression tights from 2XU. 😀

Leave a Reply

