Me + Treadmill + No Towels = Not Cute.

While I could go on for days about the things I love about my gym (XSport Fitness), one of the best is that they offer towel service.

Except on the rare days they are out of clean towels. Today was one of those days.

Before I go any further, there are a few things you should know about me. I drink a lot – a  LOT – of water throughout the day (we’re talking I typically go through a gallon before I set foot in the gym in the evening). And I joke that I have two body temperatures – freezing (which describes 99% of my work day) or sweating (which describes 99% of my gym time).

I had a run planned for tonight, so no towel was an especially bad situation. I’m usually wiping my forehead or my neck maybe a half of a mile in … well before my heart rate or breathing has increased. But a run was on tap for the evening, so a run it would be. I’d just have to deal with the sweat and make do with what I had at my disposal. Let’s just say that huge piece of paper towel was worthless by mile three (I really think I could have squeezed it out if I tried … so gross).

Despite the very sweaty run, I will say it was a pretty respectable jog. I wrapped up five miles in just over 44 minutes, ran a half dozen intervals, walked some hills and was on my way (well, on my way downstairs to stretch and do some abs, at least). I’ve been subbing a lot of classes lately, meaning I have been lucky if I can fit in one run a week, so I’ll consider the fact that I’ve kept up  my distance and felt good doing it an accomplishment.

But to bed I go – I have a meeting at one of our offices not too far from home in the morning, so I’m going to plan on getting an early morning workout in before it’s time to get to work. Hopefully the towel supply will be sufficient at 6 a.m.!

5 thoughts on “Me + Treadmill + No Towels = Not Cute.

    • Ha, thanks! Luckily I was wearing all black so it didn’t really show … at this point I know I’m going to be sweaty by the time I leave anyway, it’s just a matter of HOW sweat … and running and Spinning are by FAR the worst!

      • For sure! For me especially when running doing HIIT. By the time I’m done with that It’s just pouring… and I love it!!! 🙂

  1. Nice work! You’re a workout machine! Also, I have the freezing/sweating going on too. Not pretty but…the faster you start sweating, the more ready your body is at any moment, the more in shape you are. Ta Da! Thank you Shape magazine.

    • Ha, thanks! I’ve actually read that bit about the being in better shape making you sweat faster – it’s what I use to convince myself I’m conditioned, not disgusting 😉

Leave a Reply

