Gotta Get Back on Track …

I spent my weekend with the family, celebrating the wedding of my cousin Jackie and her now husband Adam. It was a much needed break from life – I’ve been pretty much non-stop since I got back from the beach at the end of July, and I was exhausted. And exhausted is putting it lightly.

Hanging with the brothers before Jackie and Adam’s wedding

 

The fact is, I’ve been doing way too much, and it started to take a toll on me. I haven’t been sleeping enough, I haven’t been getting the kinds of workouts that I needed, I’ve been taking on way too much … and it has left me beyond stressed. And when I get stressed, I have a tendency to turn to chocolate.

So, here’s the thing – it’s not only caught up to me mentally, but I have seen the number gradually creeping up on the scale, too. It’s not that I’m not working out, because I am. But I haven’t been feeling that I’ve been getting the results that I really want, and that number – about 5lbs. higher than it was two months ago, staring back at me this morning – just went to confirm what I think I already knew …

… it’s time to start making a little more time for me, and being more conscious of how I’m dealing with the stressors in my life. Yes, I’m working out six days a week, as I always do, but it only goes so far when you head home to the chocolate. The thing is, I don’t want it if I don’t see it – but when I get stressed beyond a normal level, the cravings refuse to go away (we’re talking all the fruit and vegetables and health food in the world wouldn’t make a dent. I could be completely full, but if I’m stressed, and a bag of chocolate chips is staring me in the face, I will down a handful).

It’s a problem – and I’m taking the first step now by recognizing it. I want to get back to where I was at the beginning of the year – I was at the best I have been in years, and I hate that I’ve gotten away from that (even if 5 lbs. is, in the grand scheme of things, not that big of a deal). And when I start to feel insecure about my body – perhaps I should say even more insecure than usual – it simply stresses me out more. So it’s time to take a stand, make a change and step away from the chocolate.

8 thoughts on “Gotta Get Back on Track …

  1. This is such an honest post and one that hopefully will give you the accountability you need to get back on track. This is for LIFE. You knew that fact when you worked SO hard to lose all those inches and all those numbers on the scale…it wasn’t for a tempary reward. Your intent was to stay there. You are human though and not perfect. Pick yourself up, dust yourself off and kick your own butt back to where it should be. Stay strong!

  2. Fall you gain a few and knock them off before Thanksgiving.You had a few great comments on how you looked. Relax some and lighten up. I’m thinking laughing at your brothers had to knock a few off and make you feel better. At least you don’t have your father “Food is love” around 🙂 Next week
    I’m sure you’ll have some rest and back into shape. Lo9ve you bunches. xoox

    • I’m assuming by “great comments” you mean Aunt Becky …
      Yeah, I think I must have been retaining water from the weekend or something, because I was already down 2.5 this morning. Thank goodness.
      Still waiting on that rest. I’m exhausted.

Leave a Reply

