Common Running Injuries … And What To Do About Them.

There are so many things I love about running. The way it makes me feel strong. The way it acts as therapy. Yes, especially the fact that if I need to lose a couple lbs., adding a little more running into my week will usually do the trick.

There is, however, one thing I can’t stand about running: the injuries. Because I’m currently teaching classes three days a week, it’s difficult for me to run more than twice a week, but when I first started working out, I was logging a good 30+ miles a week (just because I knew it was good for me, not because I was training for anything).

Meaning I’ve seen my share of injuries throughout the years. Hips, ankles, shin splints … I’ve dealt with them all at one point or another. Especially those dang shin splints (which, for lucky me, first started before my workout days, when I was a dancer in “The Music Man” in high school. All those lifts and jumps in heels did me in from there forward. Fun fact, though: since I fell in love with Mizunos almost three years ago, I have not had shin splints. Guess there is something to be said for a good pair of shoes! … and hopefully I didn’t just jinx myself.)

That said … I came across this great graphic on running injuries, and thought I’d pass it along. Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Common Running Injuries … And What To Do About Them.

  1. Wow, great graphic find! I particularly like the treatment and alternative options info.

    Larissa from pilotingpaperairplanes.wordress.com

  2. Pingback: A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words | Early AM Runner

Leave a Reply

