Columbus Day Gym Observations

Today is Columbus Day, which meant a day off of work (YAY!) – and a rare weekday morning workout (double YAY!). I got to the gym around 8:30 this morning, which was great, because the gym was still pretty empty (meaning I could easily do everything I needed to do without having to hunt for weights or wait around for a bench to open up). Although I’m sure many of the regular evening folks such as myself were there this morning, I was reminded of something else as well: it’s a different ballgame in the morning vs. evening.

I came across a couple of observations of note this morning:

  • Short, tight shorts are never appropriate on men. As I was getting ready to start loading up the leg press, I happened to catch a glance of something that left me somewhat horrified. A man in VERY small, VERY tight, little blue and yellow shorts. With a yellow tank tucked into them. No, he was not 90 – or even close to it. I was both confused and nauseous at once. Gentlemen, if I wouldn’t wear shorts that small and tight, neither should you. Please take note of this and dress accordingly.
  • The stepmill is still a beast. It has been a while since I’ve set foot on the stepmill. Why, I’m not quite sure – I know that it’s a calorie smoker, and guaranteed good cardio with bonus lower-body work (two words: double stairs). Though I’m pretty sure the real reason for my stepmill hiatus has something to do with the fact that people are aware of its effectiveness – and the fact that they only have six or seven of them – one thing is for sure … it’s going to have to be put back into my regular rotation.
  • Trainers do find time for their own workouts! I chatted with a couple of the trainers I usually talk to when I work out in the evening this morning – while they were working out themselves vs. working out their clients. I know they have to fit in their workouts when they can on their own time (obviously, a great body doesn’t build itself), but it’s always interesting to see what types of routines they have on their own, compared to the paces they put their clients through.
  • The gym playlist starts to replay after a certain period of time. I kind of picked up on this over the weekend (after I heard, of all songs, “Come On Over” – yes, Christina Aguilera circa 1999 – shortly after I arrived, and again not too long before I headed out for the day). Also, whoever comes up with the playlists on what I’m assuming is a satellite subscription type thing has some random taste. Interspersed with the recent releases (and Christina) was also “A.M. to P.M.” Which totally makes me think of my junior year of college (back when Christina Milian was a singer, rather than a social media correspondent or whatever she is supposed to be on The Voice).

But perhaps my greatest find of they day was a great workout! I just felt good today. I think it probably has something to do with the extra day free of responsibilities, which I absolutely needed today (yes, I did come home and, after a shower, change into yoga pants and a long sleeved t-shirt, I am wearing no makeup, and the most strenuous thing I’ve done since I got home from the gym is vacuum my apartment). Back to the usual tomorrow!

6 thoughts on “Columbus Day Gym Observations

  1. I saw you running (you looked great!) on the treadmill this morning. I was the hugely pregnant girl, wishing she were in your shoes (literally). I’m a morning gym rat, and love X-Sport at that time. It’s much more peaceful than the evening scene. I’m glad that you got in a great workout (and I agree that the stepmill is a beast; it’s one of the few ways that I can still get in my HIIT workouts, even at 8 1/2 months pregnant).

    • Thanks! Yes, I saw you, too, and you look GREAT (I saw you on that stepmill, too, still rocking it – and I know I told you this after you came back from your last pregnancy, but seriously … I want to be you someday. You are amazing)! I wish I could get in there at that time every day – it’s just a madhouse at night – but unfortunately, that regular 8-5 work schedule tends to get in the way of my ideal workout time 😉

      • You are so sweet. Keeping active this far along is a struggle for the first time in three pregnancies. I think my body is worn down. 😉
        So, I do appreciate the encouragement. Thank you!
        As for working out at night: you have my utmost admiration. I simply don’t have the energy at the end of the day. You’re a rockstar!

    • I think there’s a time and a place … and the right shorts or tights (I have guys in bike shorts in my cycling classes all the time, which I think is totally fine, because if they’re comfortable, they’ll get more out of it). This guy, though? These shorts were bright blue, with yellow edging, and they left NOTHING to the imagination. A little modesty goes a long way!!

Leave a Reply

