Music Makes a Difference! (A Workout Playlist Update)

Music makes a huge impact on a workout. They’ve done studies that have shown that a good playlist not only keeps you motivated, but it also encourages you to work harder, and for a longer period of time. Great music is absolutely what keeps me going – it helps me pace my run, keeps me entertained when I am getting to that “wish I was done already” point on the elliptical and gives me an excuse to sing to my Spinning classes every once in a while.

If you’ve been keeping tabs on my blog for a while, you know I post my playlist after every Spinning class that I teach (currently I’m on the XSport Alexandria schedule on Thursdays at 5:45 p.m.) But I also spend a lot of time in the gym outside of my classes: running, lifting, or on some other random cardio machine (mostly  unrelated side note: I went to see my chiropractor on Monday, and in a kind of roundabout way, he told me I need to work out less and find a boyfriend. Not sure how I was supposed to take that … I love working out, and trust me, if I was good at finding myself a boyfriend – which, based on the number of years I have been very single, I clearly am not – I would have found one by now). So, yeah, as a former singer who is easily bored, music makes my workouts even better.

That said … here’s the question of the day: What’s playing on my cardio playlist right now? Check it out:
Locked Out of Heaven – Bruno Mars
Blow Me (One Last Kiss) – Pink
Let Me Love You (Until You Learn to Love Yourself) – Ne-Yo
Feel Again – One Republic
One More Night – Maroon 5
Don’t Wake Me Up – Chris Brown
Good Time – Owl City ft. Carly Rae Jepsen
Uprising – Muse
Animal – Ke$ha
Burn It Down – Linkin Park
We Run the Night – Havana Brown
Dressin’ Up – Katy Perry
Peacock – Katy Perry
Let’s Go – Calvin Harris ft. Ne-Yo
Scream – Usher
Everybody Talks – Neon Trees
Repeat – David Guetta ft. Jessie J
Where Have You Been – Rihanna
Touch Me – Smash Cast ft. Katherine McPhee
Feel So Close – Calvin Harris

Looking for something a little slower? Here’s what’s playing in my Pilates classes (and my cycle cooldowns) right now:
Miss Me – Andy Grammer
Too Close – Alex Clare
Next to Me – Emeli Sande
I Never Told You- Colbie Caillat
Give Your Heart a Break – Demi Lovato
We Are Young – fun.
Shake It Out – Florence + The Machine
Where I Sleep – Emeli Sande
Not Like the Movies – Katy Perry
Some Nights – fun.
The Fighter – Gym Class Heroes ft. Ryan Tedder
The A Team – Ed Sheeran
Wide Awake – Katy Perry
Mad – Ne-Yo
Eyes Open – Taylor Swift

What songs fuel your workout? Any good suggestions you think I should add to my list?

6 thoughts on “Music Makes a Difference! (A Workout Playlist Update)

  1. Absolutely agree! Music is what always gives me that extra push. I signed up for a 5k once and then read that you weren’t allowed to bring your music. I almost had a panic attack! Called them and was told they weren’t actually strict about that rule. Phew! My latest additions were One More Night (LOVE IT! and see you have it.), Kiss With A Fist – Florence + the Machine, Till I Collapse – Eminem, Stronger – Kelly Clarkson.

    • I seriously wonder how I spent years working out with the background gym music instead of my own. Maybe that’s why I tend to work harder now? More great songs – Stronger was absolutely my theme song at the beginning of the year. I love angry Kelly Clarkson!

    • Thanks! Glad you like them! I try to mix up the Pilates list, so these are just the most recent additions (I posted a much lengthier list a few months back). I love both Calvin Harris and David Guetta for my cycle classes – they have such great movement in the music, it makes choreographing super easy 🙂

Leave a Reply

