Believe in Your Strength – Nobody Can Tell You That You Can’t!

I’ve often said that the easiest way to make me do something is to say that I couldn’t do it. Maybe it’s the oldest child in me, or maybe it’s the fact that I don’t like to be underestimated. As much as I have changed throughout my life, if one thing has stayed the same, it’s that if I’m going to do something, I’m going to do it well.

From a fitness standpoint, I’ve gotten to the point where I’m capable of doing things I never would have thought I was capable of doing myself. I was never an athlete. But everything changed when I discovered that I could run a few miles and not die (yes, this seriously was a fear of mine back in high school, as I was forced to run around that dang track in gym class … one of my closest friends from high school, Jenny, and I have actually laughed about how we never, EVER would have thought that we, the miserable 12-minute milers would become a fitness instructor – me – and a marathoner – she).

As a fitness instructor, I come across people from all different backgrounds, and all different fitness levels. But the one point I always try to get across to all of them is that you are capable of accomplishing anything you set out to. The fact is, you can’t expect it to happen overnight. There is a reason athletes train for months, even when they are not actively competing – because it takes time to gain the strength, endurance, or cardio capacity that they will need to win.

The saying goes that athletes are not born (well, at least not most of them), but are made. So don’t ever let anyone tell you that you can’t. Because you have the power to accomplish anything you set your mind to. And it feels dang good to prove your doubters wrong.

10 thoughts on “Believe in Your Strength – Nobody Can Tell You That You Can’t!

    • Now that I think about it, this one is pretty fitting for you after your big news yesterday! Glad you like it – and congrats again (welcome to the instructor’s club)!

  1. I remember almost scaring myself out of doing a Spin marathon. But when I showed up I did 7 hours of Spin, 7 spin classes one after another. That blew my mind 🙂

    • I’m a firm believer that so much of it is mental once you’ve become at least somewhat conditioned. There is definitely a point at which your body physically can’t take anymore … but that’s usually MUCH later than your head talks you out of it! Good for you, though, that’s pretty hardcore!

  2. Darn right! We can do anything we set our mind to. People see me in the gym…and I think they must look at me wondering why I’m not attached to a treadmill. They watch me…where I’m going and what I’ll choose to do..especially on the “lifting” side. Yeah, I’m a big girl. Yeah, I’m stronger than you…get over it. Lol. Choosing to get stronger and leaner…almost halfway to goal. Great post.

    • You’re absolutely right! Who would want to be attached to a treadmill? (heck, I can only stand the treadmill twice a week) I don’t think it matters how big or small you are, it’s that you are trying to make yourself better – how could anyone not respect that? That actually makes me think of another thing I fail to understand – the people who claim they have to “lose some weight before” they start lifting. Pick up some weights now. You’ll lose more in the next month than you will if you keep yourself, as you said, attached to a treadmill.

  3. It doesn’t happen overnight, this is so true. Getting fit is a lifestyle and you gotta make room for it for the long haul.

Leave a Reply

