Mondays Suck … But Tonight’s Run Definitely Didn’t.

Nobody likes Mondays. It means the weekend is over. We have to get up early and go back to work (or school). So how have I managed to make them a little less painful?

I’ve tried to make Mondays one of my running days. Because of my teaching schedule, I only have time to run two – three if I’m lucky – times during the week, and I like to make the most of them. Tonight, I have to say, was a great one. The fastest, best feeling run I’ve had in a really long time.

Let me be clear about one thing: I was not born a runner. I’m very honest about the fact that I was that girl in high school who thought running a mile in gym class would kill me (and I didn’t like that sweat would mess up my hair. How times have changed …). Even when I started running in college on my own will, it was not an easy thing. Did I enjoy it? Eventually. And even once I started to get comfortable with three, four, five miles, I was never very fast. I’m pretty sure that for the first year I was running, I averaged somewhere around a 12 minute mile.

Which leads me back to today’s run. Like I said, I have worked hard to take those seconds, and eventually minutes, off of my miles. I had a feeling it was going to be a good run today when the first three miles went by pretty quickly, my heart rate wasn’t getting uncomfortably high and my breathing heavy to the point where it was uncontrolled. I was kind of in the zone for most of it. Like with anything else in my life, I tend to get bored quickly, so I’m constantly playing with the speed on the treadmill. When I finished three miles around the 26:30 mark, I knew I was doing okay. When I hit five at about 44:15, I was pretty confident seven miles was on the agenda. It was. And it was done in about 61:30. Which meant I was averaging around an 8:45 mile for all seven miles.

As I mentioned before, I am definitely not a born runner – but I have made myself into one. It’s taken time, and it’s taking determination to push myself, and it’s taken a lot of the “when I get to X or Y, whatever’s last” game, to get me to where I am today. It’s taken rebuilding gradually after injuries (more than I’d like to admit to myself). But I’ve cut minutes off of my mile times. I’ve gone miles further than I would have ever imagined I could have 10 or 15 years ago. And I have grown to love running.

Bottom line? If I can be a runner, so can you. You just have to believe, and push, and tell yourself you can do it. Before long, you could be looking forward to Mondays – if for no other reason than a great run – to look forward to.

12 thoughts on “Mondays Suck … But Tonight’s Run Definitely Didn’t.

  1. Great post! I literally just posted along these lines of the impending doom Mondays and most days in general bring with it. Also wanted to let you know I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog award. I enjoy your posts. Thanks for sharing!

    • It’s the little things, you know? Knowing I have a workout coming in the evening is what keeps me going through my work day some days! And thanks so much for the nomination! Much appreciated!

    • Thanks! Glad you liked it! I get excited when I can take 2 seconds off, so any improvement is a good thing. It’s more proof that the mental aspect (and the will to do it) plays a huge part!

  2. I started running in May and now I run on average 3 miles every outing. Granted my 3 mile time is even slower than your initial one was, I run a 15-16 minute mile. But I love going farther and faster and always improving.

    • You’re absolutely right – it takes time, and you’re doing what you can do now. That’s the way to look at it. Progress comes with consistency, and it doesn’t happen overnight!

  3. Great post.
    Motivational because I can’t run. I try all the time, it just doesn’t really get better.
    I guess I just have to try harder.
    I love Mondays (only because I know I have yoga class in the afternoon…)

    • Trust me, it takes time … in my case, about a decade to get as fast as I am now (which is, by most standards, not really that fast). You have the right idea though – when you have something to look forward to, the day goes by so much more quickly.

Leave a Reply

