Think You Can’t Do It? Yes, You Can.

One of the biggest lessons to learn when starting a fitness program (or even for those who have been at it for years) is controlling the battle between your brain and your body. As the picture above suggests – and it’s completely true – your head is more likely to give up before your body.

Here’s the thing: even some of the most determined, motivated people sometimes give up. And sometimes, the people you’d never expect to accomplish something go far beyond expectations. Many times, your own internal monologue can make or break you.

There will be days that you just won’t be feeling it. Some days it may feel like no matter what you do, your lifts will be too heavy, your run will be too long, and making it to the finish line will seem impossible. At those times, just stop thinking. Start doing. Don’t let your head win. Your body can do it.

Bottom line? Always give yourself credit for what you are capable of. It’s usually going to be more than you may realize – so never, ever give up. Keep strong until you reach your goal – or go beyond it. Remember, you don’t push until you’ve had enough … you push until you’re done.

And keep in mind … you are just as likely to have a bad day and want to throw in the towel as you are to have a day that goes better than you would have ever anticipated (heck, I went into the gym yesterday thinking I’d start with a 5k jog. I ended up running my fastest 7 miler to date – shaving a few seconds on my previous best, at just under 61 minutes). You control your body and your head, so make it happen!

 

4 thoughts on “Think You Can’t Do It? Yes, You Can.

  1. Right on! I’m getting better at pushing myself during races even when my brain says it’s okay to let up. For 5K and 10Ks this worked pretty well this past year. For Half and Full Marathons the mental dialog goes on for miles and is a constant battle especially after mile 20 of a marathon.
    It is a battle of will power. The more you exercise your will power the stronger it gets. I hope to someday be able to push my self all the way through a marathon and toally dominate that little voice that says it’s okay to slow down, rest, take it easy.

  2. Ugh, I wish I had read this before I went on my 8 mile run that turned into 5 today. I am from somewhere flat and am on vacation somewhere VERY hilly and my head siked out my legs. Heck, I ran a marathon two weeks ago, I could have made my 8 miler this morning. Great post, just have to remind myself of this tomorrow while I run in this hilly nightmare! haha

    • Hey, hills can be TOUGH – and technically it’s a different workout than you’re used to, so that’s a good thing! Some days you do really fight that little voice in your head though (and sometimes it wins), for sure!

Leave a Reply

