Holiday Gift Ideas for Exercise Junkies

In the market for a gift for the fitness junkie on your holiday shopping list? Check out some of the great gift ideas Fitbie collected from top trainers: Gift Ideas from Personal Trainers | Fitbie.

Yes, some of these ideas may be a little unorthodox (and in some cases, just plain EXPENSIVE!). Here are some easy to find ideas that fit into most any shopping budget:

  • BPA-free water bottles. My brother Eric gave me orange (Clemson colored!) Nalgene bottles last Christmas – and it’s a gift that keeps on giving. I don’t go anywhere without a water bottle, so it’s been one of the most useful gifts I’ve received in recent history.
  • Yoga or Pilates mat (and maybe throw in a DVD). The beauty of Pilates and yoga? All you need is enough space to fit a mat, so you can practice at home, on the road, or in the studio or the gym. Check out TJ Maxx and Marshalls – they tend to stock high-quality mats, for a fraction of the price you’ll see in sporting goods stores.
  • Heart Rate Monitor. I’m a huge advocate for heart rate monitors – I haven’t exercised without one in probably close to seven years. Depending on the features, they can run from as little as $40, or up to $400. My recommendation: check out Polar (I’ve been wearing a FT60 for about two years now, and I love it! They are currently on Amazon.com for just under $150).
  • Gym bag. If you’re like me, you carry your life to the gym with you (example: on Wednesday nights – when I go straight from work to teaching two classes, I usually show up with my regular bag, with my gym clothes, and my Pilates mat bag, with my mat, Piloxing gloves (need them? You can buy them here), my mic belt, batteries … yeah, I pretty much fall into the studio with my armloads of stuff).

Happy shopping – and remember, window shopping does count as exercise, but that’s no excuse to skip the gym this time of year! Make time for you – your health – and sanity – relies on it.

One thought on “Holiday Gift Ideas for Exercise Junkies

Leave a Reply

