Ladies, Put Down the Girlie Weights and Start Lifting Like a Woman

I hear it all the time. “I don’t lift, because I don’t want to get big.” Ladies … please stop using this excuse. It’s invalid, and it makes you sound clueless.

It’s amazing that this misconception continues to run rampant in gyms all over the world. Ladies, picking up a weight over 5 lbs. (and that isn’t pink) is not going to make you “big.” As a girl with a body that puts muscle on pretty easily, I can honestly say that no matter how hard and how often I’ve lifted throughtout the last 10 years, I have yet to take on the shape of a bodybuilder.

Let’s sum things up like this: lifting weights does not make you huge. Eating protein will not make you start sprouting bodybuilder muscles. What will the two do? Turn you into a lean, strong, sexy, healthy, and yes, feminine-looking woman. So don’t be afraid of the weight room. Your muscles – and your bones, too – will thank you, especially as you age.

To debunk some of the myths that are out there:

bulkingupmyth

11 thoughts on “Ladies, Put Down the Girlie Weights and Start Lifting Like a Woman

  1. Great post and SO true. I lift like crazy and get compliments from all my boot campers, spin students, and random strangers about my arms and back! I won’t even let my ladies use girlie weights (unless absolutely necessary)

Leave a Reply

