Christmas is Over. Get Back to Your Workout Routine.

We’ve made it through Christmas, and with only New Year’s Eve and Day standing between us and the start of the January gym rush, now is the time to start burning off those inevitable pounds burned during the holiday season. The beauty of working out this week? A lot of people still consider themselves to be on the “free pass” that is the holiday season. But why put off until tomorrow what you can start (or resume) today?

The jury is out on how much weight people typically gain over the holiday season – I’ve seen anywhere from 5-10 lbs., to as little as 1-2. Personally, I’m weird, as I historically lose a couple between Thanksgiving and New Year’s (though in full-disclosure, I may have been down 2 lbs. before I headed home for the holidays, but the verdict won’t actually be in until after I get back to Virginia tomorrow afternoon and on the scale on Friday morning … and yes, I am kind of dreading what I’ll see … though I’d like to believe the scale in my parents’ bathroom, which claimed that I had lost somewhere between 18-20 lbs. in a span of three days. That would have taken me significantly below my “goal weight” – if only!!)

Why get started (or get back to it, even if you only took Christmas Day off) today?

  • It’s easier to lose 2 lbs. than 20. Let’s be honest. We tend to give ourselves a little pass on the healthy eating during Christmas (Yes, I did have prime rib two nights in a row. It was the first time I’ve eaten red meat in … I don’t even know how long. A long time). One day off and one day of less than stellar eating won’t kill you. But giving up – and putting it off – will only bring you farther from your goals.
  • The New Years rush starts next week. Throughout the years I’ve found that the January rush doesn’t typically start January 1 – but come mid-January, the gym is a zoo. For those of us who are as likely to be in the gym in September as we are in January, this is irritating. So get into your  groove now, and enjoy the fact that you won’t have to wait for an elliptical or stalk the weight floor for a bench for another week or so.
  • You’ll feel better. Too much family time and travel woes got you down? There is no better mental therapy than a good workout. Zone out to some good tunes, get your sweat on, and forget than Aunt Margie asked you when you’re getting married for the 45th time (thankfully, my family has just stopped asking this question … I’ll get there when I get there, it’s not from lack of trying!)

Hope you all had a great Christmas! Now is a great time to start re-evaluating your goals and setting a plan to achieve them in 2013. It’s almost here – so get ready to make it your best year yet!

12 thoughts on “Christmas is Over. Get Back to Your Workout Routine.

  1. So true. I’ve tried to be good but last night I weighed in and was 5lbs over what I wanted as my high point. It was Christmas Day night, so hopefully that was as lardy as my ass will get. I really have a lard gut but the phrase is lard ass. LOL
    I have managed to get in 2 10K runs in this week, but I think I’m going to need a few more of those to get back on track.

    • I’ve gotten on the treadmill twice and to the gym once … but I’ve also sat around the house in my pajamas twice in the last week, too 😉 Let’s call it a metabolism reset – and great motivation to get back to our normal routines!! I’m so ready.

  2. Even though I do enjoy holiday foods and time with family, I still eat right for most meals/snacks and I still workout. Being healthy does not include a bunch of “exemptions” because the rest of the year can be full of them too if you think about it. Birthdays, anniversaries, promotions, etc…If you’re going to strive for a healthy life, why take time “off”? 😉

  3. I took yesterday as a free pass day, but I was back at the gym this morning. I definitely needed that hour to myself after all the family time. As much as I enjoyed Christmas, I felt so much better after my workout.

  4. Thanks for popping into Westie Fitness! I agree, the Christmas-New Year time is a great week-ish to get back into the groove.
    If you can get back into things before NYE – it makes the new years resolution easier to keep.

  5. I skied yesterday for the first time this season and appreciated all the squats I have been doing. But this morning I felt great and knowing that day 2 is the worst, I took a boot camp class at my local gym. I have to give a shout out to my 24-hour fitness center. They are great and the girls kicked my butt in the boot camp. So tommorow I will take my favorite Zumba class and will never stop moving because that is when I tighten up. I am like the drunk who keeps drinking so she won’t get a hangover; but not.

Leave a Reply

