Cast of Gym Characters … They’re Coming!

With only a few more days remaining in 2012, it’s about the begin: the dreaded January gym season.

(Resolutioners! The horror!)

It’s going to be crowded – there’s no denying that. But let’s keep things positive: it also means that all the crazy characters are out on full display. So, what should you be on the lookout for in the coming weeks? Perhaps everyone in this slideshow: 20 Most Obnoxious People in the Gym.

The descriptions absolutely do them justice – and you know you’ve seen these people before. A couple of my favorites from the list (and yes, I think I see them all at least once a week…)?

#3: The 80s Couple
#5: Way Too Sweaty Guy
#8: The Hairy Guy
#10: The Wimp
#14: The Euro Dude
#15: The Couger
#17: The Lurker
#18: The Grunter

11 thoughts on “Cast of Gym Characters … They’re Coming!

    • “Januarians”! I love it! I refer to them as “the Resolutioners.” It’s gonna get ugly (but that’s when you’re glad you’re the instructor – we’re guaranteed a spot in class!!)

  1. As long as you’re running, you’re lapping everybody on the couch.
    I’m sure there’s something similar for the gym, but then, some bums are just taking up room on a bench.

  2. Oh no! And just when it already got busier with the schoolies! 😦

    Yep.

    Saying that, I was a late “resolutioner”. I turned up at the gym in February, and was probably one of those that they figured would be gone in two weeks.

    So maybe we can turn this on its head. If we take the time to welcome them, talk about their goals with them, and make them feel like they *can* do it, maybe they’ll stay. And maybe some of the women will even leave the safety of the cardio machines and try some free weights!

    Now *that* would make all the crowding in the world worthwhile, don’t you think? 😉

    • February is fine – to me that says that is just when you were really ready to make the commitment (and you probably avoided a lot of the crowds by waiting, too). Heck, I didn’t think I’d last when I first started working out … but it makes me feel great, and I haven’t found anything else that has quite the same impact on my life. Sticking with it is key – I’ve actually had people ask me how I do it, and I tell them the truth – I know how much it sucks to get started, and I never want to have to do it again!

  3. Remember as things get chaotic you can always escape the gym and enjoy the outdoors. Rock climbing, hikes, yoga, running! You don’t have have to be a slave to the gym. Happy New Years 🙂

Leave a Reply

