Tips to Keep Your New Year’s Resolution

It’s that time again … New Year’s Resolutions. Gyms are about to be packed to the breaking point. Healthy eating will be more of a focus than it is throughtout the rest of the year. Everyone is going to be a better version of themselves in the coming year. Which brings me to this illustration:

Self-Care-Infographic-MSWatUSC1

So, those statistics aside, there are a couple of things to keep in mind. Resolutions may be the “it” thing to do, but I don’t believe in them; I personally haven’t made a resolution in years, simply because I feel that if I want to make a change in my life, it should be whenever the desire to change is strong enough … not because the calenar tells me to.

That said … as you set out on your goals for the new year, if commitment to a healthy lifestyle is one of your resolutions, take a good look at two words: “commitment” and “lifestyle.” Because these two words are the ones that will help you to be successful not only in January, but well into the months and years to come. You have to want it, and you have to live it.

Happy 2013!

Interested in finding out more about the USC School of Social Work? You can access their website here.

13 thoughts on “Tips to Keep Your New Year’s Resolution

  1. Make a resolution you are already committed to.
    If you’re not ready to give up smoking yet, NYE isn’t the time to do it. If you are already committed, it’s a great moment… but then so too is your wedding anniversary, birthday, childrens birthday, parents birthday, Christmas, or payday!

  2. Pingback: Tips to Keep Your New Year’s Resolution | babyhippoblogging

  3. thank you for the motivation, my goal is to eat healthier meals, and spend less on lunch, so I spent the last week of December cooking, and filling my freezer. Otherwise I wasn’t going to do anything, but you have given me so good tips to keep myself motivated to eat better.

  4. Pingback: My New Year’s Resolutions « From Books to Blades

Leave a Reply

