Happy Birthday, Strong-Fit-Beautiful!

birthday-candle1

I can’t believe it has already been a year since my first post here at Strong-Fit-Beautiful. At the time, I had no idea that, one, people would actually read what I was writing, two, the blog community would be so embracing, engaging, and thought-provoking, and three, that I would end up loving this creative outlet as much as I do.

For me, starting a blog should have been something I would have done a long time ago. Blending my love for fitness with my background as a writer and editor really is such a natural fit.  I know I’ve mentioned her a few times here and there, but this little blog wouldn’t have existed without the person who initially pushed me to start writing it: my girl Helen. She’s seen me through a lot of good times – and a lot of bad times – and in the 3+ years we have known each other, she’s become a close friend, a sounding board, and often times, my sanity (you’ll get that when you spend 40+ hours a week sitting quite literally four feet away from someone). So to Helen: THANK YOU! Strong-Fit-Beautiful would have never existed without you.

For those of you who join me in class, I appreciate you taking a little time to check in with me in the blog world as well as in the studio. You were also part of why I’ve continued to write – your questions often inspire me to do a little research, share answers to often asked questions, and give you the opportunity to re-live the torture you endured in a Spinning class through the weekly playlist (you know I love all you badasses for making it through it – and coming back for more week after week). You make me a better instructor and a better communicator. I know I’ve said it a million times, but you are all truly the reason I continue to learn, teach, and wish I had more hours in my week to commit to leading classes for you. If fitness is my heart, you all are what feeds my soul. I truly feel as if the person I am when I step in front of a class is the best version of myself, and it means the world that you allow me to share her with you.

And to you, my readers. We are all in different parts of the world, yet the love of fitness and this incredible blog community brings us together. From many of you, I have gotten ideas I may have never come up with on my own, and I look forward to reading your reactions to my thoughts. You have inspired me, you’ve made me think, helped me look at an exercise or an idea differently, and often – even if you don’t realize it – you’ve cheered me up when I was feeling down.

I’ve covered a lot of topics throughout the last year – some serious, some humorous, some just plain scary or out there (first one that comes to mind? That story about the nasal feeding tube for weight loss). That said, here are a few of my favorites from the last year:

The Best Way to Start Your Week: A Love Letter to My Sunday Morning Spinning Class

Tonight’s 7 Miler: An Internal Monologue (Holy ADD)

Kisses Blown, Songs Sung – Last Night’s Spinning Class Made My Week

All’s Fair in Loving Fitness (a.k.a. Why I Want to Change the World)

Body Image: What You See is What You Become?

How We Can Combat Obesity: Healthy Habits Start in Childhood!

What Your Group X Instructor Wishes You Knew

Never, Ever Give Up: Arthur’s Inspirational Transformation

Hybrid Exercising: Piloxing and Barre Ride (naturally, I have to include my fitness tv debut)

So, what have you had the most to say about? The most comments have come from Who Am I?, Don’t Go to the Gym to Look Good … Do It for the Way It Makes You Feel! and The Upside of Running on a Treadmill. And a quick thanks to Colin at Uberbeastmode … you’ve earned the honor of being my top commenter (keep ‘em coming, I love your insight!)

Now that you’ve seen what I’ve liked throughout the last year, what were some of your other favorite posts? And what do you want to see more of (or perhaps learn about me) as we start the second year of Strong-Fit-Beautiful?

Finally, a big THANK YOU to all of you for your support and comments throughout the last year – you are the best!

15 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Strong-Fit-Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

