College is a Time for Fun … and Fitness!

If you’ve ever taken the time to read about me, you know that fitness hasn’t always been a part of my life. I wasn’t an athlete in high school; I was a singer, dancer and actor. In fact, it wasn’t until I was more than halfway through college that I started working out consistently – and, truth be told, I was well into my mid-20s before I really started feeling like fitness was a part of who I am.

With that in mind, I wanted to share this great graphic, directed toward college students. There are so many ways to fend of the “freshman 15” (I was lucky – I lived in a dorm situated on a huge hill about as far from every classroom building on campus – Clemson House for those of you who know the university – which meant I did a LOT of walking if I wanted to or not … and didn’t gain a single pound because of it) … read on to see how some of these tips can keep you healthy as you strive to stay healthy while juggling classes, friends, relationships, parties and all the other fun stuff that comes along during your college years.

Most of all, to the college students: enjoy your time! Before you know it, you’ll be 10 years post-graduation wondering how all those years passed so quickly. I speak from experience!

Student+Guide+Health+Fitness

4 thoughts on “College is a Time for Fun … and Fitness!

  1. I was the opposite – did sport all the way through Uni, then lapsed when I started work and couldn’t keep it up – rowing is usually very early hours on the water, and it was just too tough to do the 1 hour commute to the boatsheds from where I lived to make the 5 am start, then do a full day of work, then a 1 hour commute home each day.

    Also not helped by hanging out with a man who was NOT into fitness at all đŸ˜¦ It really makes a difference who your friends are!

    • Rowers keep brutal hours, for sure! I lived next to a girl who was on the rowing team in college, and she’d always get mad at us because she would have to go to bed (in a sorority dorm, mind you) at like 9 p.m. so she could be at practice by 5 a.m. I can’t even get out of bed that early, let alone go through a tough workout (heck, 15 minutes on the rower and my back is begging me to do something else).

Leave a Reply

