My First Time…

You could say it was somewhat of a defining experience. My heart was pounding. My breathing heavy. I could feel the excitement building as I got closer to finishing.

Seriously, get your heads out of the gutter! I’m talking about my run this evening. It was the fastest 7-miler I’ve ever clocked.

Tonight was the first time I’ve ever finished seven miles in under an hour… admittedly, it took 59:45, but hey, those 15 seconds kept me under an hour. Even more exciting? It was a full 40 seconds faster than the seven I ran last Monday (and last week started with a particularly hellish, self-defeating day, so that really is saying a lot. Today’s only compliant? That we were getting snow in the last week of March).

It was one of those accomplishments that really makes me think about just how far I have come throughout the years. If you’ve ever taken a few minutes to read a little about me, you know that running didn’t come easy to me. Heck, I thought the world was ending the first time I ran two miles and didn’t feel like I was going to die. Or made it down to a 10-minute mile an hour pace (for the record: tonight’s run clocked in at about an 8:30 pace).

The point I’m trying to make? You are a lot stronger than you believe. It’s all a matter of recognizing that although you may not see it from one day to the next, over time, you are capable of accomplishing far more than you may have ever believed possible. Always focus on the little accomplishments along the road to your overarching goal, because those little accomplishments? They can help you not only reach your goals … but go well beyond where you ever thought you could be capable of going. One or two seconds off your time, or running an extra quarter of a mile may not feel like much, but those seconds and quarter-miles add up.  It doesn’t happen overnight – but does anything worth having?

6 thoughts on “My First Time…

Leave a Reply

