Haven’t Done That in a While…

I decided to do something I haven’t done in a while tonight.

There are two things you should know about me before I go any further: one, I have “favorite” machines in the gym (Really. Read this.), and two, I have a tendency to get crazy ideas into my head and decide I just HAVE to do something.

Which is how I ended up running eight miles tonight … for the first time in probably three and a half years.

Now, yeah, if you’ve been reading this for any amount of time, you know I’ve been doing at least one seven-miler a week for the last several months. In fact, I used to run an 8-miler almost every Sunday when I lived in Nashville (the beauty of a gym with a movie theater inside it – I spent a lot of time running and watching bad movies). So it’s not like this is some huge feat … it’s more a case of following through on the thought I had while I was sitting at my desk this afternoon.

I worked my legs pretty hard – I thought – last night. Went up on some of my weights, felt that shake/numbness/tingle pretty strongly between my third and fourth set on the leg press. Naturally, being me, I was disappointed to have little more than a little tightness most of the day (fear not: good old DOMS has started to take hold on most of the space between my hips and knees).

Which is probably why this genius thought set in: “It’s the night for a long run. Maybe if I can get my second-favorite treadmill (I kid you not, I really do play favorites – this “second favorite” being the one treadmill that doesn’t have a built-in 60 minute time maximum … for the record, the favorite is the end one with the fan directly overhead), I’ll do eight miles tonight. I mean, I ran seven at the fastest pace I’ve ever run last week, so why not?”

Again, being me, I was thrilled to see that the “score on time” treadmill was open. I set it for 90 minutes (assuming it would take me a little over 70 minutes to run eight – I clocked in at 70:30 – and then I’d do the incline pyramid I usually walk following my runs … you know, because running 7-8 miles isn’t enough, why not walk another mile-plus?? Yes, there is something seriously wrong with the way my brain works). And I told myself there was no way I was walking until I hit that eight mile mark. Did it feel great? No. My pace was definitely slower than a week ago, but I was still averaging just over an 8:45 mile, so I really can’t complain. Yes, somewhere between miles five and six, I was praying that eight would hurry up already, cause the news stories were starting to repeat themselves, and I was getting kinda bored.

But in true me fashion, I did what I always do: Got an idea in my head. Ran (in this case, literally) with it. Rocked it. It really is all about your mindset – telling yourself that you don’t quit when you’ve had enough … you stop when you’ve reached your goal.

9 thoughts on “Haven’t Done That in a While…

  1. That is awesome!! Hopefully you will sign up for the Army 10 miler in October! Registration opens May 15! It is by far my favorite race and I think one of the best around!

  2. Congrats! Seriously awesome post 🙂 I started running for the first time in a long time last week in sort of the same fashion. I just got the idea into my head that I was going to do it – and I did. I’m hoping it sticks! You’re right – it’s all about your mindset.

    Also, I tried a class at X Sport for the first time this past Saturday (body pump) and had a blast! I’ll definitely be coming back for more!

      • It was a great workout! I’ll definitely come try one of your classes too. For the cycling class – do you need to bring anything? I’m a complete beginner and it’s always a little intimidating walking into a new class and not knowing what to do first!

      • Just bring yourself and a towel or two. I’d only recommend getting the shoes after you know it’s something you enjoy and want to do reguarly. And show up early – my 5:45 class on Thursdays has been filling up pretty early (I get there around 5:15, and there are usually at least a half-dozen people who beat me there – we’ve been completely full 5-10 minutes before our start time).

Leave a Reply

