Guess Hard Work Does Pay Off.

We spent our last full day in Florida today, and I finally had a chance to do what I was really hoping to do during the trip: head to the beach! There is nothing more relaxing to me than grabbing a book, sitting in a beach chair (or in today’s case, just on a towel), and listening to the waves crash while soaking up a little sun.

As the first day wearing a swimsuit for the year, naturally, I was a little nervous to see exactly how kind or unkind the winter had been to my body. I’m pretty consistent in my workouts and diet regardless of the time of year, but I’ll be the first to admit that I can be critical of anything I consider less than perfect (or the kinder “work in progress”). I’m a pincher, and a believer that if it moves, it shouldn’t be there … despite on of my favorite trainers, Alex, continually trying to convince me that what I see as fat is, in actuality, skin. So, yeah. I think it’s safe to say that I have a few body issues.

I’m well aware that, as far as beaches are concerned, someone is always going to look better – and worse – than you. And after four days in Florida, with workouts no more strenuous than a long walk through the park or on the beach, or yesterday’s trip to the driving range, coupled with only so much control over when and what I’m eating (can’t say I’ve been bad, at least) I was definitely nervous to see the picture my dad took of me in front of the ocean this afternoon.

When I finally did check it out at dinner tonight? I think my reaction was, “Whoa. Really?” Pleasant surprise. Guess hard work does pay off, huh?

20130408-224856.jpg

19 thoughts on “Guess Hard Work Does Pay Off.

  1. Looking great! It is a nice feeling to see the payoff from all of that work. Last Labor Day my brother in law said “Looking fit” as I stood in the lake in my swim trunks. I was shocked because all I see is the fat on my belly and lack of muscle.
    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

