Spinning Playlist – April 11, 2013

I made it safely home from Florida, and though it was a great trip, it’s kind of nice to be back in the normal swing of things. I know I was never technically disconnected … but I missed you guys!

As I took a look at my playlist to compile this post, I realized one big thing … we’re pretty David Guetta heavy tonight. Good thing he’s a musical genius! And there is one new song for you tonight, too – and it’s a good one! Here’s what we rode to tonight:

Warm-up (Flat Road; Resistance 3-4 on a scale of 10)
Feel Again – One Republic

Building Block #1 (Start Resistance 5, Build to 9)
Rest of My Life – Ludacris ft. David Guetta and Usher
Blow Me (One Last Kiss) – Pink
Come to Me – Diddy ft. Nicole Scherzinger
Rosa Parks – Outkast

Building Block #2 (Start Resistance 5, Build to 9)
Touch Me – Smash Cast ft. Katherine McPhee (anyone else sad NBC has moved this show to Saturday nights … to die?)
Club Can’t Even Handle Me – Flo Rida
Closer – Tegan and Sara
Repeat – David Guetta ft. Jessie J
Don’t Cha – Pussycat Dolls

Building Block #3 (Start Resistance 4-5, End 7+)
Moves Like Jagger – Maroon 5
Clarity – Zedd
Night of Your Life – David Guetta ft. Jennifer Hudson
Desert Rose – Sting

Cooldown
Wide Awake – Katy Perry
Between the Raindrops – Lifehouse

Try to enjoy this gorgeous weekend (now that I’ve had winter and summer in the past week, guess we get a little spring this weekend), and I’ll see you next Thursday.

8 thoughts on “Spinning Playlist – April 11, 2013

  1. Hi good morning! I love your blog and have been reading for awhile. I am especially interested in your spinning playlists. I too teach, but have not facilitated a class in the way you describe your building blocks. Could you explain them to me a bit? I have experienced different trainers who lead the class through each song, as I do, and others who do the same but there are a group of songs in a ‘set’ or ‘building block’ like yours but still each song in the building block has a specific drills in it. Just curious, as I’ve seen your playlists and would love to give them a go in my class but I”m unsure as to what the drills are in each building block. Thanks!!

    • Thanks so much! Sure, it’s actually pretty simple. The “blocks” essentially just get progressively heavier, resistance-wise. I base my classes mostly on the music, which determines what we’re doing at any given time – I get bored easily, so we are always switching positions based on the rhythm of the music. I wouldn’t say there are specific drills built into them – it’s kind of more what sounds right (I do choreograph, but it’s more of a this part of the song builds up in speed, or pulls back, or is a great spot for a spring. Exactly why I love David Guetta, Calvin Harris and all this EDM that’s becoming popular – great changes in the music). Basically, we start light, build to heavy, and throw a bunch of transitions between running and climbing in between. I’m not sure if that helps, but hopefully! If not, I could walk you through specific choreography that I do for individual songs.

    • You know, and I even said something at the beginning of class about the one day you aren’t there being the day I have Outkast AND Sting … you know I planned that just for you!

Leave a Reply

