Friday Training … Had I Forgot How Tough It Should Be?

On Friday afternoon, I did something I haven’t done in quite a while … I let one of the trainers at my gym put me through the ringer. I have been feeling kind of stuck in my routine as of late – feeling like my workouts are the same thing, different day, or feeling like I’m a slave to my schedule (that said, I love my classes, but I strictly teach two days a week, and on the one day that I only teach one, it can be a challenge to head upstairs to lift once I’ve climbed off the bike). So when I got an offer for a beatdown from a pro? Naturally, I took it.

Having worked with a trainer consistently – and learned a lot of the lessons I pass along to my classes today from my trainers – it was really nice to get that tired-but-it-feels-good-even though-I-feel-like-crap feeling again (not sure a certain someone appreciated it too much when I showed up to his door looking spent later that evening, though…). As I was taking a few seconds to catch my breath, one of my regulars came up to me to ask why I was working so hard. I told her it was because “big man’s making me do it” … but the truth is, I’ve always had a thing for those breathing hard, dripping sweat kind of workouts. I don’t like to do things the easy way. That’s not how you get real results. And if I can’t get it right away? Well, I’m sure not going to tell you. But you’ll be able to tell in my eyes that I’m going to get it if it kills me.

I guess you could say that the monotony that has plagued my workouts as of late is just a byproduct of the rest of my life feeling like it’s almost stuck idling. You can’t really complain that there’s too much going wrong, yet at the same time, you feel as if you could do something great  if you just knew how. Perhaps a little change – albeit only this one day (please, my full-time job took away our fitness reimbursement last fall, I can’t afford training now) – can be the spark I need to get back to where I want to be. Have I gotten lazy? I don’t think that’s the right word. Content, perhaps? Maybe. But that’s not where I want to be. I am a believer that when you stop wanting more is when you stop making progress. So I guess this might be time to make a commitment to start picking things up a little bit again, because I miss that ache, that sweat, that exhaustion that follows a good, hard workout.

6 thoughts on “Friday Training … Had I Forgot How Tough It Should Be?

Leave a Reply

