Back in the Saddle (Among Other Things)

As I wrote last week, life has been a bit hectic as of late. For those of you who know me, you know that I’m typically in the gym six days a week, either teaching a class, running, lifting or doing something that’s going to make me sweat. Last week? In a span of six days (Sunday-Friday), I only made it into the gym twice. I felt it. So did my scale.

Needless to say, it’s been nice to get back into my regular routine this week. I finally started to feel like myself again after hitting the weights for the first time in almost a week on Saturday, then getting back to my class on Sunday (I missed them while I was in Virginia Beach last weekend … but, as I told them, I was definitely still in bed during the span of both my classes. But sometimes it just feels kinda good to laze in bed … especially when you have someone to cuddle up t0).

Last night, I did 30 minutes on the stepmill (half of them double-steps), and my first solid leg workout in a while. I woke up this morning wondering why I really wasn’t sore … and as the day wore on, I found the tightness start gradually in my backside, and continue to work its way down my thighs (yay!) … making walking increasingly difficult, too. So what did I do about it tonight? Ran. 5 miles, followed by five quarter-mile speed pops and 25 minutes of walking hills. It felt good!

It’s amazing to me how much of a difference it makes just getting back into my regular routine. Something about it just makes me feel like me – which is probably why I absolutely hate taking any real amount of time off (exclusive of the one day a week I’ve had trainers tell me I have to take for the sake of recovery … remembering, after all, that true gains aren’t made in the exercise itself, but in the rebuilding process in which our muscles recover). And with vacation a mere six weeks away – and the fact that circumstances only lets me see a certain someone every other week (when I’m lucky), I definitely have good reason to want to stick with the norm!

Here’s to getting back in the saddle … among other things 🙂

4 thoughts on “Back in the Saddle (Among Other Things)

  1. I know exactly how you feel. Your body gets used to a certain level of activity, but you need to balance life with some spontaneity too! Enjoy those breaks and you’ll be more driven when you get back to your normal routine. It’s good to shake up the body sometimes! Making time for cuddling is a good thing!

    • Absolutely. I hated to have to leave you guys hanging last weekend, but I’m in a position now where I take every minute of that together time I can get (because it has been a challenge to find it). But it’s been nice to be back to “normal” after last crazy/slacker week!

Leave a Reply

