Be Aware of Your Surroundings (a.k.a. SERIOUSLY???)

Since it happened several times tonight in the gym, I wanted to bring up a topic that you probably don’t really think of all that often: being aware of your surroundings. Most gyms are crowded during “prime time” (usually 4-7 p.m.) regardless of the time of year, meaning that if this is your workout time – as this is mine – you may have to do a little hunting for space. So yes, go ahead, get excited when you find a free spot. But make sure you know what’s going on around you.

I’ll admit to being somewhat tunnel-visioned as I’m tearing through the gym, trying to get my workout in. It sometimes takes everything in my power to pay enough time not to plow someone over in my quest to find the weight I’m looking for, or to climb onto a “good” (as in, under a fan) treadmill. But tonight, I felt like no matter where I went on the weight floor, I ended up with someone paying no attention, and blocking my view completely. At one point, not only did I have the guy who decided to park himself about two feet directly in front of me (and the mirror I was using to check my form), but the guy who decided to block HIM from the mirror.

Here’s the thing – I know some people are weird about the fact that gyms are typically covered in ceiling to floor mirrors. Personally, I love it. And it’s not because I’m a girl who can’t walk past a mirror to see how she looks (because, yes, I am terribly guilty of that one) – it’s because as I wrote about last week, I am a stickler for form. I like to see that my arms and legs and anything in between are where they are supposed to be. And yeah, I kinda like the look of my muscles flexing and relaxing as I lift, too. I can’t help it, I work hard!

Bottom line: while you can never completely avoid getting in someone’s way when the evening rush is well underway, do make an effort to take a look around before you park yourself in your workout space. Others will appreciate your courtesy!

9 thoughts on “Be Aware of Your Surroundings (a.k.a. SERIOUSLY???)

    • I just don’t get it. Seriously, when the first one stood right in front of me, I was just like, okay, really? When the second guy stood in front of HIM? I’m pretty sure I audibly said, “SERIOUSLY??”

  1. Unfortunately I see this both in and out of the gym…at the grocery store, on the road, and even at home. I’m always telling my kids, “be aware of your surroundings” and honestly believe it goes hand in hand with lack of common courtesy.

    • It’s true. I think people today just get so caught up in their own thoughts and actions that they completely miss a lot of what’s going on around them.

  2. I wish my gym had mirrors! I’m very particular about having perfect form and it’s frustrating not having mirrors to check!

Leave a Reply

