Travel Tips that Help Me Stay Fit (Guest Post)

Today’s post is courtesy of Mike over at Manning’s Musings – and it’s very fitting, as I’m on vacation myself this week! Enjoy, and remember that just because you are out of your normal routine doesn’t mean that you have an excuse to give up on fitness for the length of your trip – it’s an opportunity to find new options!

Travels Tips that Help Me Stay Fit

When I first began to travel, I was very discouraged that hotels did not have exactly what I needed for my fitness routine. At times, I wished that I could take my equipment with me. As I thought about this, I realized that I could bring certain items with me. Make sure to do some research beforehand in order to book a hotel that has the right fitness amenities for you. On a recent trip to San Francisco I was able to book a hotel like this by first using a travel reviews site in order to scan all the hotels in San Francisco to see which ones have the right amenities for me. In addition to this, I like to run and I have found it beneficial to ask a hotel representative if there are trails or sidewalks that are available to use. Preparing like this has really helped keep me fit while on business.

I love my smart phone for it is so valuable to me. There are terrific applications that I can download that are extremely beneficial to me. As I am running, there are applications that I can use that document how far I have gone and how fast I was going. In addition to this, it can note how many calories I have used. Furthermore, there are travel applications that I can download that give me beneficial information in terms of picking the best area in which to stay.

As a fitness enthusiast who loves to run, it is great to see a number of fellow travelers are beginning to run on local streets and trails. After being on a plane for a number of hours, I have found that running can be a great way to reduce stress on my body. Furthermore, as I run in the morning, it helps me deal with potential business stress as well as gives me opportunities to meet and socialize with local runners. While I do not have time to site see on some occasions, running enables me to see certain sites of the location in which I am staying.

It is a fact that many business travelers, including myself, have a lot of stress to deal with. This can include a business meeting, establishing new work relationships and so forth. Here are some tips I have found beneficial. As I stated earlier, running is a great way to get rid of stress for me. Another stress reducer is walking. I try to walk around the airport terminal and in various concourses. It keeps the blood circulating and keeps me occupied. While on the airplane or in my hotel room, I try to bring a fascinating book or magazine to read. This gives me pleasure and I have something to look forward to.

2 thoughts on “Travel Tips that Help Me Stay Fit (Guest Post)

Leave a Reply

