I Tried a New Stepmill Tonight …

… and I didn’t love it. I was thinking earlier today – as I was climbing the 900 escalator steps that now take me from the Metro to my new job in D.C. – that it’s been a while since I’ve been on the stepmill. It’s always been one of my favorite machines, because not only do you start sweating in about 30 seconds (I know, coming from me this doesn’t mean much), but that thing will kick your butt. So, knowing I had a leg workout ahead of me this evening, I figured what better way to warm those legs up than with my old friend the stepmill.

So imagine my surprise when, as I walked across the gym to the back corner that the stepmills hide (if you can say hide … unless it’s early Sunday morning, those things always have people waiting to get on them), I came across five or six brand new gargantuan machines alongside four of the old ones. Part of me got super excited. The other part of me looked at the handrails and decided they had too much going on. Another part still was wondering why I had never heard of the brand of fitness equipment – Matrix – before.

Being me, of course I looked to see if any of the old ones were available – just because I was kind of tired and not really down for having to figure out how to work a new machine. Only one was open, but the television was broken (I wondered later why I cared, though, since I tend to spend my entire time on the stepmill either watching the clock to change my direction or watching my feet to ensure I don’t go flying off the back of that thing), so I decided to try out the new beast.

Like I said … I didn’t love it. There wasn’t anything fundamentally wrong with it – I mean, it’s literally a moving set of stairs – but it was the little things that made a difference. First, it didn’t have as much variance in speed as the ones I had gotten used to at XSport (I will admit, though, the older version was level 1-20 versus steps per minute, the latter of which I prefer). I felt almost if I was going between working a little too hard, and not hard enough. Also – and this goes back to the whole stepmills make you sweat profusely thing – the handlebars were metal, which made them difficult to grip (this would be a good time for me to make a point about stepmills and handlebars: they are there for you to keep your balance, not to throw your body on top of. Keep upright, and if you do need the handlebars for your balance, grip lightly – your back will feel better, and your body will work harder). What did I like? Tiny fan on the top of the console. That will always win points with me.

Have you encountered any new equipment lately? And if so, what was your first impression … and did it eventually grow on you if you were not at first a fan?

3 thoughts on “I Tried a New Stepmill Tonight …

  1. No!

    The other gym that I belong to has a different brand of stepmill, and I refuse to use it (it sounds like the same brand as the new one you just tried). I’ve always been a huge fan of X-Sport’s stepmills, which I love for the variation in speed I get. I love to do intervals on them. I’m frustrated to learn that they’ve added a different brand!

    • They still have a few of the old ones – it was obvious people prefer them, though, because while one of those was open, only one of the new ones was taken. But I definitely like the level options on the old ones better (and I think the steps are a little narrower on the new ones, too).

  2. Pingback: Weekend Workout Re-wind | Strong-Fit-Beautiful

Leave a Reply

