You Can be a Runner!

I’ve heard it many times – “I’m not a runner.” To be totally honest, if you had asked me prior to 2001 if I would ever consider running, I would have laughed. Hysterically. Now, 12 years later, I have added miles, taken off time, and actually gotten to the point where I don’t run because I have to – I run because I LIKE to.

The fact is, anyone can be a runner. It just takes the desire to get started … and a good pair of running shoes. Here are a few things to think about as you get on the road (or trail, or treadmill):

  • Breathe! Take big breaths, and try to keep your breathing even. Also, focus on when, as well as how you’re breathing – if you balance your inhales and exhales to match your strides, it’s easier on your body.
  • Don’t worry about your speed. Remember that old saying, “slow and steady wins the race?” It definitely applies to running. You can’t expect to go out running an 8 minute mile (heck, I’m still excited if I can average less than 8:45) – as long as your running faster than you can walk, you are on the right track.
  • Walk when you need to. Most people don’t wake up one day decide to run five miles if they have never run before. Start slow – run for one minute, then walk for five. As you find yourself growing stronger, you can add on to your running time, and subtract from your walking time. Before long you will be running the entire distance!

This time of year, as the weather is getting cooler, is a great time to start running outdoors. Take this time to start getting into a normal routine now, and come the new year, you’ll be rubbing farther and faster than you would imagine – and you’ll look like a pro to all the new people hitting the gym in January. Good luck!

9 thoughts on “You Can be a Runner!

  1. Love this! I always try to explain to those who are “incapable of running” that is is so far from the truth! You don’t need a “runner’s body,” you don’t need to be 20 years old, and you don’t need to be incredibly fit! It’s all about starting small, starting with incorporation light jogs into a walking routine, and going one’s own pace. It’s incredible how quickly our bodies adapt and how much of it is mental!

    • So, so true. I remember (vividly) running around that dang track in high school gym class, thinking they were trying to kill me by making me run (gasp) two miles. A decade later, I was running 10 miles every Sunday, just because I could. Your body can absolutely do more than your head allows you to think most of the time!

Leave a Reply

