Adventures in Team Teaching

Tonight, I had the pleasure of team teaching Pilates with Erin at Sport and Health – Crystal Park. It was kind of a last-minute thing (just worked it out last night), and we weren’t really sure how to work it … but we ended up having a really great time!

We ended up going half and half with the class – Erin taught the first half, and I finished up the second. It was fun to actually take a class (even if it was only about 20 minutes before I took over), and it’s always great to have the opportunity to see how other instructors structure your classes, interact with participants, and call the moves. I think we both definitely picked up something new to use in each of our classes going forward.

It’s actually the second time in the last week I’ve had a chance to do some team teaching. Last Wednesday, my girl Kim (a.k.a. XSport’s newest Piloxing instructor) helped me out with a block during class. It’s interesting to see how someone else teaching the moves that you are so used to – especially since she’d taken so many classes and picked up some tips from me. She did GREAT – and I’m looking forward to letting her take the reigns when I have to travel for work in May (to the drone conference. I’m not kidding. This is my “real” work…). And I’ll attest … it’s a whole lot easier to teach an entire class when you’ve spent a little bit of time in front of a live class (versus practicing in front of a mirror, with maybe one or two recruits). It gets the jitters out, helps you relax, and maybe even start to find your own personal teaching style.

Bottom line – it’s always great to get perspective on how other instructors teach their classes, especially when they are moves that remain consistent most weeks. There are always opportunities to learn some things yourself.

7 thoughts on “Adventures in Team Teaching

  1. I go to a gym where a strength class is co-taught. It is so great to have one person coaching people on form and one person guiding the class. I learned so much from doing that class. It made me feel so much more comfortable and safe with the moves especially as I was learning.

  2. Love it! Co-teaching can be such a fun way to take a class to the next level. It can also be an awkward situation is you don’t agree with the other instructor’s methods. My favorite class to co-teach right now is Body Pump. It’s so much easier with an extra set of hands!

    • Definitely! Luckily the ladies I’ve “shared” with were super easy to work with. I imagine pump is a little easier wit some help-I just think of all the equipment alone used in that class!

Leave a Reply

