Fill Their Stockings with New Workout Gear this Holiday Season!

It truly is the most wonderful time of the year – holiday season! I get so excited about Christmas, and everything that goes along with it (and I’m especially excited to head home to see the family in a couple weeks). Have a fitness junkie on your shopping list – or are you looking for a little something for yourself this holiday season? Here are some easy to find ideas that fit into most any shopping budget:

  • BPA-free water bottles. My brother Eric gave me couple orange Nalgene bottles a few Christmases ago – and it’s a gift that keeps on giving. I don’t go anywhere without a water bottle, so it’s been one of the most useful gifts I’ve received in recent history.
  • Yoga or Pilates mat (and maybe throw in a DVD). The beauty of Pilates and yoga? All you need is enough space to fit a mat, so you can practice at home, on the road, or in the studio or the gym. Check out TJ Maxx and Marshalls – they tend to stock high-quality mats, for a fraction of the price you’ll see in sporting goods stores.
  • Heart Rate Monitor. I’m a huge advocate for heart rate monitors – I haven’t exercised without one in probably close to seven years. Depending on the features, they can run from as little as $40, or up to $400. My recommendation: check out Polar (I’ve been wearing a FT60 for about two years now, and I love it! They are currently on Amazon.com for just under $150).
  • Gym bag. If you’re like me, you carry your life to the gym with you (example: on Wednesday nights – when I go straight from work to teaching two classes, I usually show up with my regular bag, with my gym clothes, and my Pilates mat bag, with my mat, Piloxing gloves (need them? You can buy them here), my mic belt, batteries … yeah, I pretty much fall into the studio with my armloads of stuff).
  • Foam roller. I’ve developed a love-hate relationship with these evil saints in the last several weeks. One to use at home is on my list this year!
  • New gym clothes. Gym clothes are great for the outdoor enthusiast, the yogi, the hardcore cyclist … there’s something for every activity and every personality. Not sure what to look for in gym clothes? Check out my recent post here.

One quick reminder, though (and no, I’m not just looking at the gentlemen here): unless you have been specifically asked to purchase a gym membership, DON’T DO IT. You’ll thank me for saving you a fight (do you really want to hear your loved ones ask you if you think they’re fat?? Didn’t think so). Have fun shopping – and remember, window shopping does count as exercise, but that’s no excuse to skip the gym this time of year (and do still park in the back of the lot)! It is a busy time of year, but make time for yourself this holiday season – your health – and sanity – relies on it.

3 thoughts on “Fill Their Stockings with New Workout Gear this Holiday Season!

Leave a comment